Summer Slump?!

I’m half in a writers-block-food-slump and it’s NO good. I think it’s a combo of working a ton and this new ultra-cheapo-budget that my husband and I are giving a whirl. So I’m using this first paragraph to whine a little bit… $60 a week on groceries?! Resigning to eating pasta (without cheese or cream or any of those good but costly and lactose-filled delicacies)?! I am in a summer foodie hell.

Luckily, my friends can cook! I went into Kitsilano on the weekend where my hippie-dippy-lovely-veggie-headed friends made a scrumptuous tofurky feast! Before your turn your nose up in disgust, it was actually pretty great! The key, apparently, is all in how you marinate it. I am no tofurky expert but I definitely suggest you try some for yourself before you judge!

Along with the faux-meat came a spread of stuffing and mashed potatoes with garlic scapes which my host grew herself and was kind enough to send home with me! Home-brewed iced tea and lemonade. And a GORGEOUS salad of edible flowers and greens grown by this amazing woman! For dessert? Fresh strawberries and ice cream (lactose-free coconut ice cream for those with allergies) followed by a long walk along the ocean and then more dessert! A coconut-raisin-carrot cake topped with bourbon glaze made by yours truly.

It was a good weekend. A filling weekend. A sunny weekend. A weekend made all the better by Charles Francis Mordecai M.D. (pictured below). The memories are almost strong enough to pull me out of my slump… perhaps a trip to my garden this evening will quell the un-inspired-cooking.

Here is a recipe for Pickeled Garlic Scapes from beautiful blog Not Without Salt (which just so happens to be… drumroll… our featured blog of the day/week/whenever I think to feature a blog!)

Pickled Garlic Scapes

1       pound or more of scapes, whole

3       cups vinegar

5       cups water

¼     cup kosher salt

Fresh Basil Leaves

Chili Flakes

Boil the water, vinegar & salt solution. Pack hot jars with whole scapes, 1 fresh basil leaf, a pinch of chili flakes (depending on your spice tolerance) and then the brine. Put on lids, place in a hot water canner and boil for 45 minutes. Leave at least 2 weeks before serving to get best flavor.

3 Comments

Filed under dessert, Dinners, Food for Thought, Recipes

3 responses to “Summer Slump?!

  1. Bethany Swallow

    $60 a week! That’s crazy cheap. Good on you guys! Having a garden definitely helps.

  2. It does help! but EEK I will let you know how this budget works out! haha

  3. Emily

    It’s lucky those hippies have a doctor in the house to support the Kits lifestyle!

    Tofurkey marinade ingredients include red wine, maple syrup, a little balsamic vinegar, a wee bit of soy sauce, cranberry sauce, fresh rosemary, fresh thyme, garlic, sage, and some sort of citrus juice and or zest (orange or lemon).

Leave a Reply

